Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

345 replies [Last post]
epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
RO Romania
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

I have no idea where it's shown. Maybe in terms and conditions ?
I don't know.

I'm was telling for every1 to know how we handle this kind of problems.
____________
epsislow


V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

So, if they apply, just remove maps from your server...

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
RO Romania
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
V1979 wrote:

So, if they apply, just remove maps from your server...

Yes, exactly... from the forum.

V1979 wrote:
EDIT: I think, if maps are available at quakelive and even downloaded (by quakelive itself) to everyone's computer (as *.pk3 files), they are free. Of course, I don't mean maps which are available only for 'pro' accounts.

Not true. If it's free that doesn't mean its not copyrighted. In comparison between free and not free products, there are too few examples that are like this. If it's free its mostly under GNU license or other free licences which means its still copyrighted. (GNU is the first free copyright, which allows you to modify under strict rules to not deny the ones that worked to it before and also to not sell it, but i very much doubt that Id uses GNU, would be a very very bad move,. unprofessional from them, not impossible aldue )
___________
epsislow


V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

I read http://www.quakelive.com/#!legals/eula

and I have to conclude that any such modifications and distribution of any elements of quakelive software are prohibited.

So, the same discussion at this topic gives away one's intents to violate that 'LICENSE', and administrators should remove such a topic and ported quakelive maps from ftp. But I think this does not affect maps created (re-built) on the basis of (and for) the original QUAKE III ARENA.

EDIT: on converting some ql maps I feel disappointed - many of them are clones of some q3a or q3ta maps or simply boring Sad

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Well... I've done it... I think you guess what I mean...
EDIT: No? I can give you a hint
http://quakelive.wikispaces.com/Level+Guide
Now all this treasure is available under q3a (v1.32).

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Come on, guys! Does nobody wants 102 maps with the whole set of textures, models, sounds, scripts etc?!!!!

R2'ATRAX
Taku's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

i need 2 maps for quake live superspace and winters edge after update id delete this maps

stop wishing ... start doing Winking

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Take this "Winter's Edge" ftp://ftp.excessiveplus.net/maps/w/map-wintersedge.pk3 (I have made some maps which have all necessary files in their own archives - by an old method of archive assembly). But what do you mean by "superspace" ?

mzi.ql
mzi's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts:
PL Poland
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Yes. I am interested in this. pm me.

0MS
Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
V1979 wrote:

Superspace is complex map with parts of dm16,dm17,tourney6 and vortexportal.