Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

345 replies [Last post]
0MS
Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

I can provide you with all QL maps if you need it

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
0MS wrote:

I can provide you with all QL maps if you need it

Converted or not yet? Happy

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

You can download files ( ftp://excessiveplus.net/maps/_incoming/ ):

0ql0.pk3
0ql1.pk3
0ql2.pk3
0ql3.pk3
0ql4.pk3
map-overkill.pk3
map-spidercrossings.pk3
wintersedge.pk3
map-v-q3dm6_ctf.pk3
map-q2dm1.pk3
map-q2dm2.pk3

IMPULSE
korso's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

For fast converting quake live maps to q3a, use ioquake3 because it can read png textures as opposed to regular quake. So I just converted pack files packXX.pk3 (from C:\Users\%username%\AppData\LocalLow\id Software\quakelive\baseq3) to packXX.zip via quakelivedec.exe, unziped it one folder removed some scripts because some of them influence on weapon view, lg for example, and other stuff. After I zipped this folder and made one pack file like pak0.pk3 for usual quake. The same thing I made with maps, but u need convert bsp map file via q3map2 (q3map2 -game et -convert -format quake3 asylum.bsp).Anyway even this means leaving some bugs like quakelive ads and items not working properly. But u general things looking and working fine.So to make quaklive map for regular quake need a lot stuff: find all textures and shaders in scripts, png textures convert to tga or jpg, fix scripts, fix items, add missing models, a little work with light and compile it all... well... IMO not so easy... but if u have strong wish, u can do it.

...Welcome to my world insect...

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
IMPULSE wrote:

For fast converting quake live maps to q3a, use ioquake3 because it can read png textures as opposed to regular quake. So I just converted pack files packXX.pk3 (from C:\Users\%username%\AppData\LocalLow\id Software\quakelive\baseq3) to packXX.zip via quakelivedec.exe, unziped it one folder removed some scripts because some of them influence on weapon view, lg for example, and other stuff. After I zipped this folder and made one pack file like pak0.pk3 for usual quake. The same thing I made with maps, but u need convert bsp map file via q3map2 (q3map2 -game et -convert -format quake3 asylum.bsp).Anyway even this means leaving some bugs like quakelive ads and items not working properly. But u general things looking and working fine.So to make quaklive map for regular quake need a lot stuff: find all textures and shaders in scripts, png textures convert to tga or jpg, fix scripts, fix items, add missing models, a little work with light and compile it all... well... IMO not so easy... but if u have strong wish, u can do it.

All this has been already done. It was easier than you described. Most heavy operations were done through batch. So, enjoy...

XTERMY [EN]
XTERMY's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
V1979 wrote:

You can download files ( ftp://excessiveplus.net/maps/_incoming/ ):

0ql0.pk3
0ql1.pk3
0ql2.pk3
0ql3.pk3
0ql4.pk3
map-overkill.pk3
map-spidercrossings.pk3
wintersedge.pk3
map-v-q3dm6_ctf.pk3
map-q2dm1.pk3
map-q2dm2.pk3

I can't download them from there. Why? Sad

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
XTERMY [EN] wrote:

I can't download them from there. Why? Sad

I too Sad I don't know...

Try to download from here:

EDIT: links were removed because they didn't work any more. You can send me a message if you are still interested.

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Japanese Castles also has some bugs to fix Sad

mzi.ql
mzi's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts:
PL Poland
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

@XTERMY and V1979

Maps are in pure processing yet. System now looking for unpure files in maps. So will be available to download soon in ftp://excessiveplus.net/maps/ 

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
mzi.ql wrote:

As you had asked me I uploaded the files to http://speedyshare.com/. You can download them from here:

EDIT: links were removed because they didn't work anymore.