Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

345 replies [Last post]
V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
Bloodfreak1981 wrote:


Can you send me please an example how to substitute a shader.

textures/se_gothic/rune_black_flat_nonsolid
{
qer_editorimage textures/gothic_light/pentagram_light1.tga
q3map_surfacelight 5000
q3map_flare flareshader
surfaceparm nomarks
{
map $lightmap
rgbgen identity
}
{
map textures/gothic_light/pentagram_light1.tga
blendfunc gl_dst_color gl_zero
rgbgen identity
}
{
map textures/gothic_light/pentagram_light1_blend.tga
blendfunc gl_one gl_one
rgbgen wave sin .8 .2 0 1
}
}

I have fixed your shader, so, it might have looked like this.
Then open common.shader at your <Q3A PATH>\baseq3\pak0.pk3/scripts
find textures/common/caulk

and you will see the whole shader:

textures/common/caulk
{
surfaceparm nodraw
surfaceparm nolightmap
surfaceparm nomarks
}

So, you should make something like this:

textures/se_gothic/rune_black_flat_nonsolid // your shader's head
{
surfaceparm nodraw // a new body of your shader

surfaceparm nolightmap
surfaceparm nomarks
}

To avoid possible conflicts with other versions of this shader that other users can have, you'd better to change its head (name) in your *.bsp, for example:

instead of textures/se_gothic/rune_black_flat_nonsolid

you can write textures/se_gothic/rune_black_flat_12345678

and, thus, you should change your shader's head too:

textures/se_gothic/rune_black_flat_12345678 // your newest shader's head
{
surfaceparm nodraw // a new body of your shader

surfaceparm nolightmap
surfaceparm nomarks
}

q3fun
Offline
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts:
UA Ukraine
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

just question, can you make excessiveplus ranking maps with translucent walls...

I am the organizer of several events:
Railonly Freeze League 2012 (link)
RailOnly r4e09f TDM CUP 2012 (link)
Railonly Freeze League 2013 (link)
Railonly Freeze League 2014 (link)
Rail Resurrection Duel Cup 2015 (link)

Freeze Rail League 2016 (link)
PlusN TDM antiWH League 2016 (link)

I'm waiting from developers GetSS a workable system!

Blitz wrote:
Lazy bastards...

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
q3fun wrote:

just question, can you make excessiveplus ranking maps with translucent walls...

I've thought of it...

METEORKID
Forum moderator Rank moderator
Meteorkid's picture
Online
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

you can. but the performance is horrible. think of the overdraw..

edit: generally each time you render a translucent object (pixel), the objects behind it get exponentially more expensive to render. So lots of translucent walls is not normally a good thing, even in modern games you don't see it because its crazy expensive.


Judge_Nutmeg
Judge_Nutmeg's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

I'm looking for the QL map The Edge.

I can't see it in the E+ database.

Is it about somewhere?

Happy

Offline
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts:
UA Ukraine
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Judge_Nutmeg
Judge_Nutmeg's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

Hi!

I have that one already but I am not a fan of the textures. Its just too dark. I like the QL version.

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps

I converted all the QL maps (made till some date) and exposed them to download. In some days I'll have an opportunity to send you the map.

Judge_Nutmeg
Judge_Nutmeg's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts:
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps
V1979 wrote:

I converted all the QL maps (made till some date) and exposed them to download. In some days I'll have an opportunity to send you the map.

Ah many thanks man. That would be great!

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Importing Quake LIve Maps / Editing Quake Live Maps