Icon over players

10 replies [Last post]
chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States

Hello,
I recently created a dedicated server using Excessive Plus and all the players that connect have this network socket icon over their head all the time. Image here: https://imgur.com/a/qM3xY0I
Is there a specific setting that can disable this?
Thanks in advance.

Login or register to view attached files

equinox
equinox's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts:
RS Serbia
Re: Icon over players

Is that Joey Jordison player model?

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players

Looks like bad server settings causing lag, or weak server performance, post your e+ server startup settings

chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players

Thanks,
Not sure what exactly you mean so i attached all files with extension changed to TXT and also my command line below:

"C:\GOG Games\Quake III\quake3.exe" +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set dedicated 2 +exec xxx.cfg
Server is running on a modern gaming pc with a 12mbps upload speed.

chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players
equinox wrote:

Is that Joey Jordison player model?

Not sure, i got it with a bunch of skins downloaded from a polish website.

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players
chanfle98 wrote:

Thanks,
Not sure what exactly you mean so i attached all files with extension changed to TXT and also my command line below:

"C:\GOG Games\Quake III\quake3.exe" +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set dedicated 2 +exec xxx.cfg
Server is running on a modern gaming pc with a 12mbps upload speed.

I suppose you renamed xxx.cfg to server.txt before uploading it here ? It will look for xxx.cfg else all server settings go default if no xxx.cfg found

chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:

chanfle98 wrote:
Thanks,
Not sure what exactly you mean so i attached all files with extension changed to TXT and also my command line below:

"C:\GOG Games\Quake III\quake3.exe" +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set dedicated 2 +exec xxx.cfg
Server is running on a modern gaming pc with a 12mbps upload speed.

I suppose you renamed xxx.cfg to server.txt before uploading it here ? It will look for xxx.cfg else all server settings go default if no xxx.cfg found

Correct, that XXX is server.txt

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players

have you asked any of the players if they see the same icon over other players ? in case it might be only you seeing it on them, as in a problem with your net , post the server ip ill connect to try

chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:

have you asked any of the players if they see the same icon over other players ? in case it might be only you seeing it on them, as in a problem with your net , post the server ip ill connect to try

Yes, everyone sees it. Thanks!

chanfle98
Offline
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:

have you asked any of the players if they see the same icon over other players ? in case it might be only you seeing it on them, as in a problem with your net , post the server ip ill connect to try

73.49.249.223
Port 27960

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Icon over players

Sorry I haven't had the time to look, I suggest try use quake3e and if you still have the same problem you can get support on their discord, cyrax is the developer.

https://discordapp.com/invite/X3Exs4C

http://www.edawn-mod.org/binaries/quake3-1.32e.zip

Our discord invite at -> http://quakeiiiarena.com/