ctf 2fort

7 replies [Last post]
Sander
sander's picture
Offline
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts:

map Arrow ctf2fort

mirror: http://www.mediafire.com/?gwjumhngkzl

For some reasons Ali dont want to put it on his test server so i posted it here.

This is a try to bring the most popular ctf TF2 map to the Quake game. There is no any TF2 to Quake 3 map convertor, so all i did manually. Textures were compressed (Irfantview 64KB compression) and models were converted to .md3 using Milkshape 3D.

information

CTF: Yes
FFa: Yes
tourney: no
deathmatch: no
TDM: no
Bot File (aas): no
other: no
new sounds: yes
new graphics: Valve Source SDK textures
new models: Valve Source SDK models
new music: no
spawnpoints: Ctf spawnpoints (10 red + 10 blue)

IMPORTANT!

Map is probably not for weak PC's. Recommended to change com_hunkmegs and com_zonemegs to 512 or 1024 otherwise u get [code:1]HUNC_ALLOK FAILED[/code:1]

u can compare with map from TF2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNuYj6NO1XY&feature=fvsr

Login or register to view attached files

superbad!
Forum moderator
Divx's picture
Online
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
ctf 2fort

wow gj so far!

few things i noticed.
in the sapwn rooms its so bright i can barely see (i use gamma 1.7 lowered it a little but still strange. what gamma do u use?)
http://i45.tinypic.com/5kn2fp.jpg

and on the top parts theres usualy a barrier here, though maybe u changed this on purpose or havent included it yet:
http://i49.tinypic.com/2zq7gg2.jpg

Deathadder | Goliathus Speed | Filco Majestouch | i7 3770 | 16GB | GTX 1080 | Xonar Essence ST | Sennheiser HD598

Sander
sander's picture
Offline
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts:
ctf 2fort
superbad! wrote:

wow gj so far!

few things i noticed.
in the sapwn rooms its so bright i can barely see (i use gamma 1.7 lowered it a little but still strange. what gamma do u use?)
http://i45.tinypic.com/5kn2fp.jpg

and on the top parts theres usualy a barrier here, though maybe u changed this on purpose or havent included it yet:
http://i49.tinypic.com/2zq7gg2.jpg

I use 2.0 gamma and seems fine for me. Its same lightning as in original map, anyway i will try to fix that.

About barrier. Yea i know that. This model is included in map pack. (models>temp2>sniper_fence01.md3) But, adding 1 model, i should remove another. Its engine limitation or whatever it is. Looks like radiant is 2 old and map has 2 many triangles or smth like that.
Anyway most important models are in temp2 folder and if some1 know any compile keys to avoid limitations please help.

*ZMB*INSANEKID*
InsaneKid's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
ctf 2fort

very good, very detailed! Winking

cml
Forum moderator Rank moderator LIVING LEGEND
camel-xp's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts:
PL Poland
ctf 2fort

nice mapa, detailed, unfortunelly it makes fps loss bcuz of too many triangles, same as with my stargates for example, anyway nice reconstruction :thumbright:

Sander
sander's picture
Offline
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts:
ctf 2fort
cml wrote:

nice mapa, detailed, unfortunelly it makes fps loss bcuz of too many triangles, same as with my stargates for example, anyway nice reconstruction :thumbright:

I think not the triangles causing lag, its the textures IMO. U can expirience with r_picmip. Higher value causing no lags at all for me.

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
RO Romania
ctf 2fort

maybe a proper use of hints and portals would decrese the number of triangles generated. i also advice to modify the blocksize of the worldspawn entity to a larger value. getting r_speed with 3000-4500 triangs would be great.

but u probably knew these already.

the map is great.

_______
epsiYellowSlow


Sander
sander's picture
Offline
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts:
ctf 2fort
epsiplayer wrote:

maybe a proper use of hints and portals would decrese the number of triangles generated. i also advice to modify the blocksize of the worldspawn entity to a larger value. getting r_speed with 3000-4500 triangs would be great.

but u probably knew these already.

the map is great.

_______
epsiYellowSlow

Yea, Big grin I knew this already. The hints are placed as effective as possible Big grin And blocksize is so damn large, it divides map only for 4 blocks