suggestion - Auto demo record.

11 replies [Last post]
METEORKID
Forum moderator Rank moderator
Meteorkid's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts:
CA Canada

Not sure how useful it would be but I would like to have the option to automatically record demos when I'm playing.

There maybe something like this already existing?

Anyways it is similar to the way screenshots work when they are taken at the end of each game, but instead a demo file is recorded the entire match (single client) and saved at the end of each match into a single folder (or when the player leaves/goes spectator).

PCs these days can easily store all this information, it would also be cool to be able to go back and never miss any moment you have played.

One other side effect is it makes it harder for cheaters in general to keep getting away with cheating for any long amount of time because more people would record demos.

A lot of newer games do this by default like most RTS games and racing games etc. It would be nice to see quake have the feature as well.

Maybe something like:

xp_autodemo 0 = default

off by default

If it doesn't make sense let me know. I hope it does.


n3m4nj4-PCK
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts:
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

seta cl_autoRecordDemo "1"

seta xp_recordMessage "0"

apollojr'ng
APOLLO Jr's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts:
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

F1

METEORKID
Forum moderator Rank moderator
Meteorkid's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts:
CA Canada
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

Quote:
seta cl_autoRecordDemo "1"

This doesn't do anything. Quake doesn't recognise the command nor record with it in autoexec. Unless I'm missing something?


superbad!
Divx's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

how about this
xp_onEnter "startrecord"
xp_onExit "stoprecord"

Deathadder | Goliathus Speed | Filco Majestouch | i7 3770 | 16GB | GTX 780 | Xonar Essence ST | Sennheiser HD598

xv!benedykt.
xvibenedykt's picture
Offline
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts:
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.
superbad! wrote:

how about this
xp_onEnter "startrecord"
xp_onExit "stoprecord"

I was using that in past. Works for 100%.

cml
Forum moderator Rank moderator LIVING LEGEND
camel-xp's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts:
PL Poland
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

xp_onEnter "startrecord"
xp_onExit "stoprecord;screenshotJPEG"

with screenshot on the end as well

eu.jeff
jeffrey's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts:
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.
cml wrote:

xp_onEnter "startrecord"
xp_onExit "stoprecord;screenshotJPEG"

with screenshot on the end as well

screenshotxp also?

cml
Forum moderator Rank moderator LIVING LEGEND
camel-xp's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts:
PL Poland
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.
eu.jeff wrote:

screenshotxp also?

Yes, and simple screenshot makes TGA shots, that have the best quality but also the biggest file size.

Voron
Offline
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts:
UA Ukraine
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

also pissy

I am the organizer of several events:
Railonly Freeze League 2012 (link)
RailOnly r4e09f TDM CUP 2012 (link)
Railonly Freeze League 2013 (link)
Railonly Freeze League 2014 (link)
Rail Resurrection Duel Cup 2015 (link)

Freeze Rail League 2016 (link)
PlusN TDM antiWH League 2016 (link)

I'm waiting from developers GetSS a workable system!

Blitz wrote:
Lazy bastards...

n3m4nj4-PCK
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts:
Re: suggestion - Auto demo record.

I forgot that cl_autoRecordDemo works only with ioquake, and I guess you are not using it Big grin
ioquake FTW