motd not displaying on startup

10 replies [Last post]
[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:

I have set xp_motd "motd.txt" in server.cfg, but motd is not being displayed on map start. If you type /motd it does appear and works in crontab */6 * * * *    /motd all motd.txt Any ideas?

(*WASP*PARADISE*)
Creating Paradise's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts:
RO Romania
Re: motd not displaying on startup
[FRAGENSTEIN] wrote:

I have set xp_motd "motd.txt" in server.cfg, but motd is not being displayed on map start. If you type /motd it does appear and works in crontab */6 * * * *    /motd all motd.txt Any ideas?

Are you Candyman? If so, hi there! Long time mate Happy I always loved it when you were on the servers and using your funny binds. Happy

Laptop: Sony Vaio 3D: VCPFX215FX/BI with 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro.
Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Core.
Pad: Logitech G240.
Keyboard: Logitech K800
Earphones: Westone ES5 Custom IEM with Emerald Green (Envy) Faceplate
Line out Dock: Whiplash Elite Micro TWag V2 Eclipse w\Oyaide plug
Amplifier: Pico Slim Silver
Music player: iPod Classic 7th Gen 160 GB black

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
Re: motd not displaying on startup

Quote:

Are you Candyman? If so, hi there! Long time mate Happy I always loved it when you were on the servers and using your funny binds. Happy

Not Candyman.

GG
GG's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: motd not displaying on startup
[FRAGENSTEIN] wrote:

I have set xp_motd "motd.txt" in server.cfg, but motd is not being displayed on map start. If you type /motd it does appear and works in crontab */6 * * * *    /motd all motd.txt Any ideas?


motd is displayed on ClientConnect or explicitly on direct command usage.
try to use execstr construction to display it whenever you want.
E+ fathers, am I right? )

✽ ✾ ✿ ❀ ❁ ❃ ❋
¡Adiós!
\'o♥o'/

.:Green:.-=Girl=-

DR*DIABLO
EL-D1ABL0's picture
Online
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts:
IT Italy
Re: motd not displaying on startup

jesus green girl, ur a living encyclopedia about technical q3 stuff lol

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
Re: motd not displaying on startup

Quote:

motd is displayed on ClientConnect or explicitly on direct command usage.
try to use execstr construction to display it whenever you want.
E+ fathers, am I right? )

Does not display on ClientConnect. Does display every 6 minutes via crontab. I don't want to rcon the motd, I want it to display when client connects.

xp_motd

xp_motd "motd.txt":
File name which holds the message of the day that will be printed to
clients when they connect to the server
, or when the client explicitly
requests it with the /motd client command.

GG
GG's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: motd not displaying on startup
[FRAGENSTEIN] wrote:

Does not display on ClientConnect. Does display every 6 minutes via crontab. I don't want to rcon the motd, I want it to display when client connects.

Keep it easy )) Lets find out the things causes that.
What about such client CVars like cg_centertime and xp_DrawNotify ?
Possible you are the only person who didnt see your server motdz ))

✽ ✾ ✿ ❀ ❁ ❃ ❋
¡Adiós!
\'o♥o'/

.:Green:.-=Girl=-

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
Re: motd not displaying on startup

Quote:

Keep it easy )) Lets find out the things causes that.
What about such client CVars like cg_centertime and xp_DrawNotify ?
Possible you are the only person who didnt see your server motdz ))

cg_centertime is "3" "default"
xp_DrawNotify is "15" "default"

GG
GG's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: motd not displaying on startup

lets try to ask devs directly in that case to know motd logics

✽ ✾ ✿ ❀ ❁ ❃ ❋
¡Adiós!
\'o♥o'/

.:Green:.-=Girl=-

JIVA
Jiva's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts:
CZ Czech Republic
Re: motd not displaying on startup

Here is option is not function anyway beacoz its artefact of older versions
older versions function work , new versions quake and mod , function only partial
no way to repair

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
haxxus's picture
Online
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: motd not displaying on startup

was a fix found for this issue ? I'm having same problem .