maxFPS resets at rotation

11 replies [Last post]
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States

Any1 knows what command is causing this issue , clients maxFPS resets to 125 when map rotation happens

METEORKID
Forum moderator Rank moderator
Meteorkid's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

You could tried setting it in an autoexec. Ive never had the same issue myself however.


(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

there is a server sided maxfps command ? it does it to all player in the server .

Ok server is running : https://www.excessiveplus.net/spider/hiszy-fanatics

If you have ur maxfps set to 250 , and join the server it makes them 125 , you set them again to 250 , when map rotates or some1 calls a map , boom resets again to 125 .

and is with ioquale3 , e3ded doesn't have that prob, so might be ioquake related

But beer is ioquake3 no ? and works good there....

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

Edit the server.cfg which is the main config for everything
when you start the server the batch file should look like

@echo off
start quake3.exe +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set vm_cgame 2 +set vm_ui 2 +exec server.cfg

so all the rest things should be edited in server.cfg, if not, look at other configs that are called/executed after server.cfg is, basically if there's an exec config inside server.cfg you should look into those aswell.
also, avoid having an autoexec in e+ or baseq3 directory, because they'll override some of the values that are not specified, because by default autoexec is executed first and then others are executed later


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

also, I suggest you leave the set sv_dlurl "" <-- like this, meaning it'll download the maps from server instead of an unaccessable website. or set sv_dlurl "http://ws.q3df.org/getpk3bymapname.php/%m" because I think it actually worked some time ago.


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

again is ioquake3 , on debian 8 x64

I added those extra commands on the .sh , so now looks like:

#!/bin/sh
cd q3server
./ioq3ded +cvar_restart +set net_port 27966 +set dedicated 2 +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set vm_cgame 2 +set vm_ui 2 +exec hizyz.cfg >/dev/null 2>&1 &

but still the same prob , and also if a map is called, it loads It with xp_matchmode 1 , and is on 0 all over ..

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:

again is ioquake3 , on debian 8 x64

I added those extra commands on the .sh , so now looks like:

#!/bin/sh
cd q3server
./ioq3ded +cvar_restart +set net_port 27966 +set dedicated 2 +set fs_game excessiveplus +set vm_game 0 +set vm_cgame 2 +set vm_ui 2 +exec hizyz.cfg >/dev/null 2>&1 &

but still the same prob , and also if a map is called, it loads It with xp_matchmode 1 , and is on 0 all over ..

what does the hiszy.cfg contain?

you can pm me if you're "afraid to reveal the secret of config" even tho I was one of the people working on rus freeze config


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:

there is a server sided maxfps command ? it does it to all player in the server .

Ok server is running : https://www.excessiveplus.net/spider/hiszy-fanatics

If you have ur maxfps set to 250 , and join the server it makes them 125 , you set them again to 250 , when map rotates or some1 calls a map , boom resets again to 125 .

and is with ioquale3 , e3ded doesn't have that prob, so might be ioquake related

But beer is ioquake3 no ? and works good there....

This is an old feature/known security hole which the owner (Hiszy) uses to change client network settings.
I don't remember exactly if its an excessive plus version or an io version that allows this but anyway.
And yea you cannot fix it because its an server sided effect.

Its there for the newbies that don't know how to config their network settings, and somehow the server does it for them. And yes, that means there are also other settings that changes after rotation, i dont remember exactly which ones now. You can figure them out if you use a default config.

__________
epsislow


(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

I'm not using hiszy config , I just named my server config that way.. nothing new on it is pretty straight forward .

set g_gametype "8"
set g_warmup "10"
set sv_pure "0"
seta r_smp "1"
//set g_password "hiv3" // server password for clients who try to connect
//set g_needpass "1"
set xp_maxMVD "0"
set xp_spawnSystem "2"
set xp_suddendeath "1"
set xp_unlagged "1"
set xp_userdb "1"
set xp_validTLD "0"
set xp_teambalance "0"
set xp_itemstyle "1"
set g_spSkill "3"
set sv_maxclients "24"
set sv_privateClients "0"
set g_motd "^o^1^7Welcome^1!"

//Replace 'xxxx' With Your Private Password, It allows You to enter the game even if the server is Full.
seta sv_privatePassword "xxxx"
//set sv_maxping "0"
set sv_fps "25"
set sv_maxrate "45000"
set sv_allowDownload "1" // enables downloading maps from server
set sv_wwwDownload "1" // enables the http redirect
set sv_dlURL "http://okayfun.com/maps"
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "1"
set bot_minplayers "0"
set bot_nochat "1"
set xp_matchmode "0"
//set bot_groundonly "1"
//set bot_rocketjump "1"
// set bot_fastchat "0"
set g_friendlyFire "1"
set g_speed "350"
set g_gravity "800"

//Map Rotation
set xp_config "conf/epfr16.cfg"
set xp_vote "conf/vote.cfg"
set xp_rotation "conf/ruz.cfg"
set xp_contrab "contrab.txt"
//seta g_botsfile "bot.txt"

// PunkBuster AntiCheat Software Setings

//exec pb_cvars.cfg

map q3overkill

as to the weapon config , is epfr16.cfg

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation
(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT) wrote:


set xp_rotation "conf/ruz.cfg"
set xp_contrab "contrab.txt"

I assume you didnt make these yourself so check them, crontab in fact can change the kind of settings like Com_maxfps
doubt the rotation would tho.
also, I noticed you're using the build Violence made ( ioq3 1.36 (viol v1.3dev), could be a reason as well becasue he implemented a lot of useless bullshit in it.


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Site administrator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: maxFPS resets at rotation

sent u a pm evol

so yeah I def have to update ioquake3 Sleepy