Help Launching Excessive Server

7 replies [Last post]
jpcapone
Offline
Joined: May 2022
Posts:
US United States

I can start the excessive server using this command./quake3e.ded.x64 +set fs_game excessiveplus /load default.cfg

What I am having a hard time with is configuring the game to my specifications. I don't understand how to make the game type FFA and add bots via the cfg file. Like what file should I place the GT_FFA in and where? I assume the default cfg file should be sufficent? I have pored over the documentation so I know I am missing something. When I launch my vanilla quake 3 server I use ./quake3e.ded.x64 +exec server.cfg +exec levels.cfg +exec bots.cfg +set sv_cheats 1
Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

In your Quake III Arena folder (or whatever folder you have Q3 installed), there's a folder called excessiveplus (if you installed excessive plus correctly). In the excessiveplus folder there's your server.cfg. In the server.cfg make sure seta g_gametype is set to "0" gametype (0 = ffa, 1 = tourney, 2 = ffa, 3 = tdm, 4 = ctf).To enable bots (in server.cfg) seta bot_enable "1" and seta bot_minplayers "3" (or however many bots you want). For the commandline: quake3e.ded.x64 +set dedicated 2 +set fs_game excessiveplus +exec server.cfg Hope this helps...

jpcapone
Offline
Joined: May 2022
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

Thank you very much for your help. I am doing further testing based on your suggestions. You indicated that I should use seta bot_minplayers "3" however in the server.cfg file the command used is set bot_minplayers "3". Will either set or seta give the same result? Based on the server.cfg file it appears that I would set the map rotations using that file? Finally what would be the best way to introduce infinite ammo and the other features like double jump provided by the excessive platform? Is it best to use the rotations.txt file for these features?

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

I believe seta bot_minplayers or set bot_minplayers should work. I set my map rotation in the server.cfg and add set xp_rotation "rotation.txt" in server.cfg. You can experiment with  $xp_config = "excessive1.cfg"; in rotation.txt using the different cfgs in the excessiveplus\conf folder. IE: excessive1.cfg, excessive2.cfg etc.

jpcapone
Offline
Joined: May 2022
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

Thank you so much for your help i am soooo close. I have a copy of my rotations file listed below. The only problem is that it seems that my fraglimit and timelimit are not being implemented. It seems like the time or fraglimit is much lower that what I set. Any ideas?
$g_gametype = 0;
$timelimit = 20;
$fraglimit = 30;
$xp_config = "excessive1.cfg"; // strings can also be assigned
simpsons_q3
q3q2dm1
q3q2dm8
Q3DM17
auh3dm1
lun3dm2
devdm3
dm7
dm1

[FRAGENSTEIN]
Fragenstein's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

See the file I attached...

jpcapone
Offline
Joined: May 2022
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

Got it! thank you so much!!!

jpcapone
Offline
Joined: May 2022
Posts:
US United States
Re: Help Launching Excessive Server

for the server.cfg have the below: should i replace all of it with the example you provided.
// misc
set rconpassword ""
set sv_hostname "Fuck You!!!"
set sv_maxclients "12"
set sv_maxrate "8000"
set bot_enable "1"
set g_spskill "4"
set bot_minplayers "12"

seta g_gametype "0"

set fraglimit "35"
set timelimit "10"
set capturelimit "6"
set roundlimit "200"

// configuration engine
//set xp_config "excessive1"

// map rotation (see rotation.txt)
set xp_rotation "myrotations.txt"
// this is needed to start the rotation
// test_bigbox is good because it tiny
map test_bigbox