Accused of cheating

6 replies [Last post]
s3v0
Offline
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts:
GB United Kingdom

Hi all,i started playing q3 recently again, it is the game from my childhood and teen years as probably most of the members. So I realized that i am still good at that game but the servers thinks that I am cheating. But today one of the admins contacted me ingame saying that my name is flashing somewhere as a cheater and i want to prove that i am not and i want to be able to play freely. So please if there is a way to prove that i am not cheating or to show the server that i am a fair player ? can some advise me ? Thanks in advance , this is a great game and the best thing is that guys like you have that great servers so we can enjoy this old but gold game.

FUBAR*ELITE'Z
Fubar's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: Accused of cheating

s3v0 that was me

Last night you were on the *ELITE'Z* Rail server , you were dropped due to suspected cheating

then you joined *ELITE'Z* DM17 server , you were dropped due to suspected cheating

I looked at the Logs and both had -B- cheat code , can't remember if it is aimbot off hand or not

There could be a few reasons for this , mainly your mouse being a bit dodgy , try another one

I have played you a few times and never suspected you of using cheats , plus your stats backs this up

I have myself been kicked of our own servers years ago , and i'm sure it was down to a loose wire in my mouse , once I got a new one everything was fine , so I would start there , hope this helps

s3v0
Offline
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: Accused of cheating
FUBAR*ELITE'Z wrote:

s3v0 that was me

Last night you were on the *ELITE'Z* Rail server, you were dropped due to suspected cheating

then you joined *ELITE'Z* DM17 server, you were dropped due to suspected cheating

I looked at the Logs and both had -B- cheat code, can't remember if it is aimbot off hand or not

There could be a few reasons for this, mainly your mouse being a bit dodgy, try another one

I have played you a few times and never suspected you of using cheats, plus your stats back this up

I have myself been kicked of our own servers years ago, and I'm sure it was down to a loose wire in my mouse, once I got a new one everything was fine, so I would start there, hope this helps

Yeah i know that it was you, thanks for the advice, i am playing on my laptop on Debian 10 with a wireless mouse, I will see if I can find another mouse to try, but what if I am good because of my dodgy mouse Happy I can't find new one right away but will see what can I do, what if it is not the mouse ? any other ideas? I even downloaded just a few minutes ago a program called pureskill ? will it help? somehow?
Thanks again for the quick reply
have a nice day all

FUBAR*ELITE'Z
Fubar's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: Accused of cheating

You would be better with a wired mouse , wireless lags a wee bit

Don't know about Pureskill I've never used it or the servers that use it , someone else might be able to help you with that one

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Forum moderator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Accused of cheating

purskill wont help you on non pureskill servers , try use latest quake3e client without ps , http://www.edawn-mod.org/binaries/quake3-1.32e.zip, you can still use the e pureskill client in general anywhere but wont be fully compatible with non ps sersers.

make sure u have clean files , one source to get em is quake.okayfun.com / press english flag for guide

s3v0
Offline
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts:
GB United Kingdom
Re: Accused of cheating

so I went back to windows (blah) and installed the game there, downloaded excessive plus mods, played a few games in the servers, so far nothing, I was not kicked or banned, so what does this mean? is ioquake3 not good enough? I don't want to go to windows to be able to play my favorite game that even has a port to Linux! so what do you think? any ideas?

(*WASP*SH▲DOWKNIGHT)
Forum moderator
haxxus's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2007
Posts:
US United States
Re: Accused of cheating

you can use quake3e on linux , its inside the package