Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or votable?

10 replies [Last post]
KERSY OF BORG
kersye's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:

Hi all,

I'm looking for a method to make different rotation executable for ref or votable in game?
Does anybody know a safty way to realize it?

Cheers Kersy

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...

Not sure if this helps but the Rotation file is a programmable file in which you can add conditions in that can be triggered by changing callvote-able parameters.
Rotation file example:

if ( $rotation == 1 ) {
    // some big maps here
    q3dm12
    q3dm14
    q3dm15
} else if ( $rotation == 2 ) {
    // some normal maps,
    q3dm6
    q3dm7
    q3dm8
} else { 
   // for when rotation is anything else or 0 use another rotation 
    q3dm2
    q3dm3
    q3dm5
}

In the server config

sets rotation 0
xp_vote "rotation 0,rotation 1,rotation 2,..."

Can also work with strings values. Rotation file example:

if ( $rotation == "1v1" ) {
    // some 1v1 maps
pro-q3dm6
q3dm17
ztn3dm1
} else if ( $rotation == 'ctf' ) {
q3tourney6_ctf
q3wcp1
q3wcp18
q3ctf3
} else if ( $rotation == 'private1' ) {
// some maps available only for refs
hub3-aero
nodm9
} else { 
// normal rotation
q3dm2
q3dm3
q3dm5
}

In the server config:

sets rotation normal
xp_vote "rotation normal,rotation 1v1,rotation ctf,..."
xp_referee "rotation private1,..."

For more infos regarding Rotation system here.
_________
epsislow


eu.jeff
jeffrey's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts:
NL Netherlands
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...

Back in the day i made configs for refs to execute them for gametypes, you can make the same principle for rotation.txt files

REF CW, REF CW {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec cw";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec fw"; 
            }
        }
}
REF CTF, REF CTF {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec ctf";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec ctfoff"; 
            }
        }
}
REF FTAG, REF FTAG {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec ftag";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec ftagoff"; 
            }
        }
}
REF TDM, REF TDM {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec tdm";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec tdmoff"; 
            }
        }
}
REF 1v1, REF 1v1 {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec 1v1";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec 1v1off"; 
            }
        }
}
REF FFA, REF FFA {
        1 {
            On, 1 {
            command = "exec ffa";
                }
            Off, 2 {
            command = "exec ffaoff"; 
            }
        }
}

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...

Oh so that's how it worked. That's nice !
_________
epsislow


KERSY OF BORG
kersye's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...

Thx for help - this what I tried:

REF ROT, REF ROT {
1 {
FTAG, ftag {
command = "exec mix.cfg"; }
MIX, mix {
command = command = "exec ftag.cfg"; }
}
}
for a start I tried this statement. But doesn t work for me. Does anybody know, what I'm doing wrong?
(When I execute the cfg file with rcon all is fine)

THOR*ELITE'Z*
Thor-NL's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...
KERSY OF BORG wrote:

........

command = command = "exec ftag.cfg"; }

This double command will not work, remove one Winking

www.elitez.eu



The whole world is searching for Waldo...
In Soviet Russia, Waldo finds YOU !
KERSY OF BORG
kersye's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...

true -- but doesn't work anyway Sad

It says: rcon echo but nothing happens

THOR*ELITE'Z*
Thor-NL's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...
KERSY OF BORG wrote:

true -- but doesn't work anyway Sad

It says: rcon echo but nothing happens

Perhaps an obvious question, but are those .cfg files in the root excessive folder?
Or in conf ? then the line should be "exec conf/mix.cfg"

www.elitez.eu



The whole world is searching for Waldo...
In Soviet Russia, Waldo finds YOU !
KERSY OF BORG
kersye's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...
JIVA wrote:

E+ programing language is similar to C and this is similar to my Pascal, i must say one
ExcessivePlus programing language is full of bugs and need revision to new version
for people without know C or Pascal or similar lang is E+ scripting full of unknowns
documentation is not writed as padagogical book, many thinks not described full
for newbies is impossible to use E+ lang with all thinks and not have where grab info
way is documentation first, second ask person
get authors of this scripting language to discussion and make him work again on this stuff
add new variables to lang more , unit for work with GFX in game to make something what isvisible not only redirect variables from source of quake to files, dont stop , ... .. .
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------this work need regular time in life as job, without money is impossible motivation , insted
ask how use useless language lets make motivation for authors of this language
i promise pay money for this job first

wut?

epsiplayer
THE ONE AND ONLY
intact-epsilon's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts:
Re: Is there a way to make rotation executable for ref or ...
THOR*ELITE'Z* wrote:


Perhaps an obvious question, but are those .cfg files in the root excessive folder?
Or in conf ? then the line should be "exec conf/mix.cfg"

Don't confuse them:

  • Configuration System files are loaded using /load command and by default stay in excessiveplus/conf directory.
  • Server configuration files (with quake3 commands &cvars) are loaded using "exec" command and by default stay in baseq3 or excessiveplus directory Tongue
Configuration system documentation.

___________
epsislow