Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

11 replies [Last post]
D3L1GH7
TanaKa's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:

Hi,

I have found a tip to make it easy. Maybe it will be useful for some of us so I decided to share it here.

If its a .pk3 file, no problems, you have just to extract it and import the .map file into GtK Radiant.

But for those who want to import a .bsp map into GtK Radiant, I have found this :

Open a .txt file with the notepad, write :

set Q3MAP_PATH="X:\Softwares\GtK Radiant\q3map2.exe"
 
set Q3_PATH="X:\Games\Quake 3 Arena\"
 
set MAP_PATH="X:\Games\Quake 3 Arena\baseq3\mxl_school\maps\mxl_school.bsp"
 
set GEN_OPTIONS=-fs_basepath X:\Softwares\GtK Radiant -game q3
 
rem
 
%Q3MAP_PATH% -convert -format map %GEN_OPTIONS% -v %MAP_PATH%
 
pause

With :

Q3MAP_PATH, your q3map2.exe compiler from GtK Radiant.

Q3_PATH, your quake3 folder.

MAP_PATH, the map-you-want-to-decompile directory.

Save your .txt file as a .bat then run it. It will ask you if you want to continue then just press a key.

It takes just 10 seconds to decompile.

I borrowed this idea to http://hackerteam.free.fr

"Skill is when luck becomes a habit".

ditto*ELITE'Z*
Offline
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

thanks'
Im going to try this. I decompiled a .bsp a while back and have forgot how. Last night I tried to decompile and got error file is 47 not 46. I remember this happend befor but forgot how I worked around this error.

D3L1GH7
TanaKa's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2010
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

Maybe because you put :
set GEN_OPTIONS=-fs_basepath X:\Softwares\GtK Radiant -game et
and not
set GEN_OPTIONS=-fs_basepath X:\Softwares\GtK Radiant -game q3

Happy

"Skill is when luck becomes a habit".

KORSAKOFF
Korsakoff's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

same error:

IONS=-fs_basepath D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-2
130824 -game q3

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>rem

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>"D:\Games\
team\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824\q3map2.exe" -convert
-format map -fs_basepath D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-
.6.4-20130824 -game q3 -v "C:\Users\Technoland\Desktop\fatalinstinct\maps\fatal
nstinct.bsp"
2.5.17
2 threads
Q3Map - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar) - v2.5.17
GtkRadiant - v1.6.4 Aug 24 2013 23:07:15
We're still here
--- InitPaths ---
VFS Init: D:/Games/Steam/steamapps/common/Quake/baseq3/

0 shaderInfo
Loading C:\Users\Technoland\Desktop\fatalinstinct\maps\fatalinstinct.bsp
************ ERROR ************
C:\Users\Technoland\Desktop\fatalinstinct\maps\fatalinstinct.bsp is version 47,
not 46

changed bsp directory:

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>set Q3MAP_P
ATH="D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824\q3map2
.exe"

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>set Q3_PATH
="D:\SORIN\CHEATER\Q3\quake3"

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>set MAP_PAT
H="D:\fatalinstinct\maps\fatalinstinct.bsp"

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>set GEN_OPT
IONS=-fs_basepath D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20
130824 -game q3

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>rem

D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824>"D:\Games\S
team\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1.6.4-20130824\q3map2.exe" -convert
-format map -fs_basepath D:\Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live\GtkRadiant-1
.6.4-20130824 -game q3 -v "D:\fatalinstinct\maps\fatalinstinct.bsp"
2.5.17
2 threads
Q3Map - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar) - v2.5.17
GtkRadiant - v1.6.4 Aug 24 2013 23:07:15
We're still here
--- InitPaths ---
VFS Init: D:/Games/Steam/steamapps/common/Quake/baseq3/

0 shaderInfo
Loading D:\fatalinstinct\maps\fatalinstinct.bsp
************ ERROR ************

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

you peeps trying to decompile QL maps?
because there will be success rate of 0, ofcourse if you didnt follow Delights previous thread of hexediting the QL map.bsp .

And, Thanks Delight, cookies for you once more Happy


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

2!S*Monk!
NewBMonK's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

the program "bspcgui" can help too, for newB Big grin

KORSAKOFF
Korsakoff's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

yes, so i can use q3 maps, i want to export map "fatal instinct" to OBJ or FBX format, any othre, for compiling to unreal engine.
exist other ways to do?

tnx.

EVILUTION
fiendsin's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

for use in maya?(like handlingand exporting after)
I believe there's some blender tools for *.map import
but I hardly remember any Maya plugin wich can do it


Sometimes I wish I was a NEET again, but life is too fucking expensive man.
The weak plot revenge, the strong forgive and the Lucky forget, but Fiend, Fiend no longer gives a shit

◀█ BIG BOB wrote:
Man you even sound like Lego's

You Fuckers wrote:
I would cut my fifth finger to bang her actually

You Fuckers wrote:
BELIEVE IN BLASPHEMY

KORSAKOFF
Korsakoff's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts:
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

nope, for 3d max, or any other progra.i want to convert this model in .ASE format, ready for unrean engine 2, 3 & 4.so nee some changes in UV mapping, for better quality ingame.---wanna to create normal and specular maps.

V1979
V1979's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts:
RU Russian Federation
Re: Import .bsp maps to GtK Radiant

You'd better suggest a way to convert maps from UT into Q3.